Week 4

I really enjoyed the presentation by Claire on Tuesday.  I feel that it is so important for this to be implemented into the schools. I found it great that she was able to talk to us about her mistakes she made and how she learned from them and didn’t make them the next year.  As a secondary teacher I am assuming that the students I will encounter in the classroom have had treaty education from kindergarten.  However, in saying this and hearing the things I have this past week I think this is far from the truth.  Why is this?  Why do we have a teacher like Claire working so hard to implement treaty education when she has no idea if the teacher next year will?  It seems a little weird to me. If treaty education is mandated for all teachers to teach from K-12.  Then make room for it in the curriculum, in every grade and every subject.  In my opinion it is not a sub discipline to be taught separately it is to be implemented into every subject you teach.  But how do we do this if we were never taught how?

 The Education students at the FNU already implement treaty education in every subject and here we are in our 3rd and 4th year students at the U of R still struggling to discuss this.  I spoke with an Education student from the FNU and she told me that they started teaching treaty education in the first year.  They were shown how to implement it into every subject they taught.  I just don’t understand why we are not learning this as well if we have a legal obligation to teach it.  Is this a government issue at the Saskatchewan Curriculum level?  

I fully understand that we are all treaty people.  I question if First Nation people think of it that way?  They don’t believe that they are equal yet in society.  It doesn’t matter if it is at school, work, the mall, a restaurant or at the movies. As educators we are trying to repair a hundred years of oppression and genocide of First Nation people.  They are finding their voice, standing up for themselves and have the highest growing young population among us.  As a teacher I will implement the treaties in my classroom and I will allow First Nation students to be proud of who they are.  Not only is that my legal and moral obligation as a teacher but it is also my personal responsibility as a treaty person.

This entry was posted in Weekly Postings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 4

  1. Rose Couture says:

    I really like your response to ways and why teachers and government should include the teaching of treaties in the curriculum. I find your last paragraph to be particularly touching because I share the same view as you when it comes to making things “right”. Like you said, we are all equals and First Nations people are part of our history and the population is still struggling to included them in the society and make them feel welcome and accepted. As teachers, it is our responsibility to be inclusive with students in the classroom, wether they are from First Nations, Peru or Africa. In addition, it is very important for teachers to include the teaching of treaties, traditions and lifestyle of First Nations in the curriculum and yes, it is possible to do so starting in kindergarten and continue on until grade 12. Like you said, First Nations history should not be taught as a separate subject, as something that is not mandatory. Great post, you raised awesome questions!

  2. osatiuk says:

    I have the same questions, why we cannot teach Treaties in every grade level? Why it cannot be a part of Social studies? I think a good way to include Treaties into curricula would be to make it a mandatory part of Social studies from K – 8. Starting at high school students should have a freedom to take other related classes or pick something that has their interest.

    I really liked when you said “They don’t believe that they are equal yet in society”. It made me think. Who do you think is being equal in our society? What do you mean by being equal? Am I being equal with you?

Leave a Reply

